Coleman 533 Sportster II Dual Fuel Camping Stove

Being a keen cook both at home and camping, it has always bothered me that I haven’t been able to find a good portable cooking solution. I tried gas but soon got tired of lugging around gas bottles and refilling them. I also tried the cheap butane stoves which were handy, and cheap but didn’t burn very hot. Neither gas or butane was satisfactory in my opinion.

Well I bit the bullet today and finally went out and got myself a dual fuel camping stove. I ended up going for the Coleman 553 Sportster II Dual Fuel model. It’s a single burner that runs on unleaded petrol or shellite/coleman fuel.

Coleman Sportster II 553 camping stove

I followed the basic instructions outlined on the burner itself, filled it up, went through the steps to light it and it was up and running in no time. I found it to be incredibly hot and it boiled my billy in just over 3 minutes – something gas or butane has never been able to do.

With a large pan over the top it still felt stable but I’d want to make sure things were distributed evenly on it or I was holding it. I might make up a stand to put my camp oven/larger pan on it at some stage.

Coleman Sportster II 553 camping stove

Taking it on its first trip this weekend and I’ll let you know how it all goes! I look foward to not having to worry about carting around any sort of gas bottle again!

1 Response to “Coleman 533 Sportster II Dual Fuel Camping Stove”


  1. 1 Swann June 26, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Hi. I’m wondering if you bought this stove in Australia. I’m planning to go to Sydney for the World Youth Day 2008 this July. I am looking for Coleman stove gas. Is it easy to buy Coleman products in Australia?


Leave a comment